Hikari’s Coma: Another Update

Hello friends,

I’m back, once again with another set of updates about my Hikari’s Coma project. Firstly, I am thinking of renaming the story to merely ‘Hikari’ – over time, it has increasingly felt like a more appropriate, more serious title which fits better with the overall theme of the story. I have a few other ideas for titles, but ‘Hikari’ just seems like the most suitable for now.

Additionally, I have lengthened the story into two significant parts, with a prologue and an epilogue. The second part isn’t finished and I’m going to rework the epilogue, but I have a solid plan about what I’m doing and where I’m taking the narrative.

I’m also toying with the idea about submitting the story to an LGBT publisher rather than self-publishing. The reason I’m toying with it, rather than having actually decided on it, is primarily because the relationship between Sarina and Hikari, while adorable and lovely, is incidental. It’s a science-fiction novel about giant robots set in a dystopian alternate universe and it just so happens that the main character and her love interest are both women. That was my intention from the start, and I’m undecided as to whether increasing emphasis on their relationship would be to everyone’s benefit, both mine and yours. We’ll see I suppose.

On a personal level, I have some rather exciting news. Call it research, a vacation, a dream-come-true, what have you, but I am going to Tokyo, Japan in September! I have managed to – at great expense to my wallet and my mental health – acquire a short trip of just over a week to the world’s only megacity, and I couldn’t be more excited. And I’m really not the excitable type! During my trip out there, I am planning to produce a daily blog on here, with photos and stories and so on, which I hope you’ll all enjoy. If you’re in and around Tokyo, I’ll be staying in the Asakusa area between the 24th of September and the 2nd of October, so please get in touch if you would like to meet up!

I’m also planning on taking some time off in the coming weeks, as I have a lot of vacation time left to take at my current job that I have to take before August, so I should be able to make some good progress with my writing. I’m also going to be posting a review of an amateur science fiction novel by the name of¬†Ntshona¬†soon, so please do check it out when that happens!

For fans of Night God Bless, I am still working on the new chapter and it should be available soon. After the cliffhanger of the last chapter, I’ve been trying to find my way back into the flow of things and I think I’ve found it, so I shall let you know once it’s out!

Advertisements